Selected speakers who had accepted to lecture already during 2006
For a day-by-day programme please click


Anatoly Balagurov, JINR, Dubna, RU
Tiziana Boffa Ballaran, University of Bayreuth, DE
Natalia Dubrovinskaia, University of Heidelberg, DE
Francesca Fabbiani, University of Goettingen, DE
Roger Fourme, Synchrotron Soleil, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR
P.T.C Freire, Federal University of Ceara, Fortaleza, BR
Fernando Rodriguez Gonzalez, University of Cantabria, Santander, ES
Giovanni Hearne, University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, ZA
Kei Hirose***, Yokohama Institute of Technology, Tokyo, JP
Jennifer Jackson, CalTech, Pasadena, CA, US
Andrzej Katrusiak, University of Poznan, PL
Paul McMillan, University of London, UK
Mohamed Mezouar, ESRF, Grenoble, FR
Artem Oganov, ETH Hoenggerberg, now SUNY, Stony Brook, US
Moshe Paz Pasternak, Tel Aviv University, IL
**Nancy Ross, Virginia Polytechnic, VA, US
Crystelle Sanloup, University of Edinburgh, UK
Mario Santoro, INFM, Sesto Fiorentino, IT
Vladimir Solozhenko, Institute for Superhard Materials, Kiev, UA
Heidrun Sowa, University of Goettingen, DE
*Renata Wentzcovitch, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, US
Bjorn Winkler, University of Frankfurt/Main, DE
Roland Winter, University of Dortmund, DE
*withdrawn on Nov 2008 for personal reasons
**withdrawn on Dec 2008 due to top engagements as President of the American Mineralogical Society
***withdrawn on Feb 8, 2009 for personal reasons

Additional speakers - invited more recently ONLY for bureaucratic reasons - who have accepted to lecture

Igor Abrikosov, Linkoping, SE
Vladimir Dmitriev, SNBL, ESRF, Grenoble, FR
Robert T. Downs, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
Leonid Dubrovinsky, University of Bayreuth, DE
Lars Ehm, BNL, Upton, NY, US
Antonio Gomes Souza Filho, Federal University of Ceara, Fortaleza, BR
+Alexandra Friedrich, Frankfurt/Main University, DE
Andrea Gauzzi, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, FR
Wojciech Grochala, University of Warsaw, PL
Jean-Paul Itié, Synchrotron Soleil, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR
Denis Kozlenko, JINR, Dubna, RU
Jens Kreisel, CNRS, Grenoble, FR
+++ Paul Loubeyre, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, Bruyeres-le-Chatel, FR
John Loveday, University of Edinburgh, UK
Piero Macchi, Milan University, IT
Sebastien Merkel, University Lille1, Villeneuve d'Ascq, FR
John Parise, Stony Brook, US
++Michele Parrinello, ETH Zuerich, CH
++++Vitalij Pecharsky, Iowa State University, Ames, US
Alain Polian, University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris, FR
Colin R. Pulham, University of Edinburg, UK
Sandro Scandolo, ICTP Trieste, IT
Yanbin Wang, University of Chicago, US
+withdrawn on Nov 2008 for personal reasons
++withdrawn on March 24, 2009 for personal reasons
+++withdrawn on April 20, 2009 for unexpected commitments
++++withdrawn on May 11, 2009 for unforeseable personal reasons

The theoretical sessions of the Course are partly sponsored by Psi-k (Euro-Network for Electronic Structure Calculations funded by the European Science Foundation (ESF) through an ESF Programme on 'Electronic Structure Calculations for Elucidating the Complex Atomistic Behaviour of Solids and Surfaces', see The assistance of Priv.-Doz. N. Dubrovinskaia (Heidelberg, Germany) in establishing the coordination of the activity with the Psi-k is gratefully acknowledged




Devices for pressure generation
Pressure measurement / calibration
High-pressure experiments at variable temperature
Single-crystal and powder diffraction with X-rays and neutrons
Electric and magnetic measurements
High-pressure techniques at large facilities
Theoretical methods for high-pressure science


Strain, compressibility, equation of state
Phase transitions
Amorphous and crystalline solids
Planetary sciences and mineral physics
Synthesis and solid-state reactivity
Materials (ferroelectrics, super-hard materials, nanomaterials, superconductors, etc.)
Explosives and energetic materials
Soft matter, biomolecules, drugs and biomimetics
High-pressure crystallization